Departments of France

Les départements de la France

The departments of France

France is divided into regions, which are then divided into departments (Departements). There is a total of 96 excluding the overseas territories. Each department has a unique number, which is used for many administrative reasons, such as the vehicle registration plates, postcodes, but not phone numbers. If you see a car where the last two numbers are 06, then it comes from the "Alpes Maritimes" in southern France. If you send a postcard to someone in Paris then the postcode would be 75000.

After the French Revolution, the country was originally divided in to 82 departments, as the population has grown and for administrative reasons certain of them have been divided into smaller areas (especially near Paris).

If you want to see where each department is located use the map of the departments, or check out the various map images with contours, outlines and coloured versions.

A full list in alphabetical order showing the number, name and a brief description. Click on the department name for detailed information.
Department Capital Region
(since 2016)
(before 2016)
1 Ain Bourg en Bresse Auvergne Rhône-Alpes Rhone Alpes
2 Aisne Laon Hauts-de-France Picardie
3 Allier Vichy Auvergne Rhône-Alpes Auvergne
4 Alpes de Haute Provence Digne Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur
6 Alpes Maritimes Nice Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur
7 Ardèche Privas Auvergne Rhône-Alpes Rhone Alpes
8 Ardennes Charleville-Mézièes Grand Est Champagne-Ardenne
9 Ariège Foix Occitaine Midi-Pyrénées
10 Aube Troyes Grand Est Champagne-Ardenne
11 Aude Carcassonne Occitaine Languedoc-Roussillon
12 Aveyron Rodez Occitaine Midi-Pyrénées
67 Bas Rhin Strasbourg Grand Est Alsace
13 Bouches du Rhône Marseille Occitaine Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur
14 Calvados Caen Normandie Basse-Normandie
15 Cantal Aurillac Auvergne Rhône-Alpes Auvergne
16 Charente Angoulême Nouvelle-Aquitaine Poitou-Charentes
17 Charente Maritime La Rochelle Nouvelle-Aquitaine Poitou-Charentes
18 Cher Bourges Centre Val de Loire Centre
19 Corrèze Brive Nouvelle-Aquitaine Limousin
2a Corse du Sud Ajaccio Corse Corse
21 Cote d'Or Dijon Bourgogne Franche-Comté Bourgogne
22 Cotes d'Armor Saint Brieuc Bretagne Bretagne
23 Creuse Guéret Nouvelle-Aquitaine Limousin
79 Deux Sèvres Niort Poitou-Charentes Nouvelle-Aquitaine
24 Dordogne Périgueux Nouvelle-Aquitaine Aquitaine
25 Doubs Besançon Bourgogne Franche-Comté Franche-Comté
26 Drôme Valence Auvergne Rhône-Alpes Rhone Alpes
91 Essonne Evry Île-de-France Île-de-France
27 Eure Evreux Normandie Upper-Normandy
28 Eure et Loir Chartres Centre Val de Loire Centre
29 Finistère Brest Bretagne Bretagne
30 Gard Nîmes Occitaine Languedoc-Roussillon
32 Gers Auch Occitaine Midi-Pyrénées
33 Gironde Bordeaux Nouvelle-Aquitaine Aquitaine
68 Haut Rhin Colmar Grand Est Alsace
2b Haute Corse Bastia Corse Corse
31 Haute Garonne Toulouse Occitaine Midi-Pyrénées
43 Haute Loire Le Puy Auvergne Rhône-Alpes Auvergne
52 Haute Marne Chaumont Grand Est Champagne-Ardenne
74 Haute Savoie Annecy Auvergne Rhône-Alpes Rhone Alpes
87 Haute Vienne Limoges Nouvelle-Aquitaine Limousin
5 Hautes Alpes Gap Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur
65 Hautes Pyrénées Tarbes Occitaine Midi-Pyrénées
92 Hauts de Seine Nanterre Île-de-France Île-de-France
34 Hérault Montpellier Occitaine Languedoc-Roussillon
35 Ille et Vilaine Rennes Bretagne Bretagne
36 Indre Châteauroux Centre Val de Loire Centre
37 Indre et Loire Tours Centre Val de Loire Centre
38 Isère Grenoble Auvergne Rhône-Alpes Rhone Alpes
39 Jura Lons le Saunier Bourgogne Franche-Comté Franche-Comté
40 Landes Mont de Marsan Nouvelle-Aquitaine Aquitaine
42 Loire Saint Etienne Auvergne Rhône-Alpes Rhone Alpes
44 Loire Atlantique Nantes Pays-de-la-Loire Pays-de-la-Loire
41 Loir et Cher Blois Centre Val de Loire Centre
45 Loiret Orléans Centre Val de Loire Centre
46 Lot Cahors Occitaine Midi-Pyrénées
47 Lot et Garonne Agen Nouvelle-Aquitaine Aquitaine
48 Lozère Mende Occitaine Languedoc-Roussillon
49 Maine et Loire Angers Pays-de-la-Loire Pays-de-la-Loire
50 Manche Saint-Lô Normandie Basse-Normandie
51 Marne Reims Grand Est Champagne-Ardenne
53 Mayenne Laval Pays-de-la-Loire Pays-de-la-Loire
54 Meurthe et Moselle Nancy Grand Est Lorraine
55 Meuse Bar le Duc Grand Est Lorraine
56 Morbihan Vannes Bretagne Bretagne
57 Moselle Metz Grand Est Lorraine
58 Nièvre Nevers Bourgogne Franche-Comté Bourgogne
59 Nord Lille Hauts-de-France Nord-Pas-de-Calais
60 Oise Beauvais Hauts-de-France Picardie
61 Orne Alençon Normandie Basse-Normandie
75 Paris Paris Île-de-France Île-de-France
62 Pas de Calais Arras Hauts-de-France Nord-Pas-de-Calais
63 Puy de Dôme Clermont-Ferrand Auvergne Rhône-Alpes Auvergne
64 Pyrénées Atlantiques Pau Nouvelle-Aquitaine Aquitaine
66 Pyrénées Orientales Perpignan Occitaine Languedoc-Roussillon
69 Rhône Lyon Auvergne Rhône-Alpes Rhone Alpes
69M Métropole de Lyon Lyon Auvergne Rhône-Alpes Rhone Alpes
71 Saône et Loire Macon Bourgogne Franche-Comté Bourgogne
70 Haute Saône Vesoul Bourgogne Franche-Comté Franche-Comté
72 Sarthe Le Mans Pays-de-la-Loire Pays-de-la-Loire
73 Savoie Savoie : 73 Auvergne Rhône-Alpes Rhone Alpes
77 Seine et Marne Melun Île-de-France Île-de-France
76 Seine Maritime Rouen Normandie Upper-Normandy
93 Seine Saint Denis Bobigny Île-de-France Île-de-France
80 Somme Amiens Hauts-de-France Picardie
81 Tarn Albi Occitaine Midi-Pyrénées
82 Tarn et Garonne Montauban Occitaine Midi-Pyrénées
90 Territoire de Belfort Belfort Bourgogne Franche-Comté Franche-Comté
95 Val d'Oise Pontoise Île-de-France Île-de-France
94 Val de Marne Créteil Île-de-France Île-de-France
83 Var Toulon Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur
84 Vaucluse Avignon Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur
85 Vendée La Roche sur Yon Pays-de-la-Loire Pays-de-la-Loire
86 Vienne Poitiers Nouvelle-Aquitaine Poitou-Charentes
88 Vosges Epinal Grand Est Lorraine
89 Yonne Auxerre Bourgogne Franche-Comté Bourgogne
78 Yvelines Versailles Île-de-France Île-de-France