The 13 regions of France

The 13 regions of France

How many regions are there in France?

Answer : From 1st January 2016
Mainland France is now divided into 13 + 5 overseas administrative regions, the government agreed on a major administrative reorganisation of the country.

Answer : Until the 31 December 2015
Metropolitan France is divided into 22+ 5 overseas administrative regions.

Each region is divided into different "departments", and each "department" is divided into "cantons"

The 13 regions of Metropolitan France (as from January 2016)
Name Capital Information
Grand Est Strasbourg Fusion of Alsace-Lorraine and Champagne-Ardenne
Nouvelle-Aquitaine Bordeaux Fusion of 3 regions Aquitaine, Limousin and Poitou-Charentes
Auvergne Rhône-Alpes Lyon Fusion of the Auvergne and the Rhône-Alpes
Bretagne Rennes Unchanged, Brittany
Bourgogne Franche-Comté Dijon Fusion of Burgundy and the Franche-Comte
Centre Val de Loire Orléans Only the name has been changed
Corse Ajaccio Corsica
Occitaine Toulouse Fusion of Languedoc-Roussillon and Midi-Pyrénées
Normandie Rouen Normandy, fusion of Basse-Normandie and Haute-Normandie
Hauts-de-France Lille Fusion of Nord-Pas-de-Calais and the Picardie
Île-de-France Paris Unchanged
Pays de la Loire Nantes Unchanged
Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur Nice Unchanged

All the maps

Use the interactive map of the 13 French regions to find out more information about the country.

The old 22 regional names

This list is kept for reference purposes and dates from before January 2019

Click on the region's name for more information, each link opens a page showing maps, photos and other information.

The 22 regions of France (until 31December 2015)
English French spelling
Alsace Alsace
Aquitaine Aquitaine
Auvergne Auvergne
Brittany Bretagne
Burgundy Bourgogne
Center Centre
Champagne-Ardenne Champagne-Ardenne
Corsica Corse
Franche-comte Franche-Comté
Languedoc-Roussillon Languedoc-Roussillon
Limousin Limousin
Lorraine Lorraine
Lower-Normandy Basse-Normandie
Midi-Pyrenees Midi-Pyrénées
North-Calais Nord-Pas-de-Calais
Paris-Isle-of-France Île-de-France
Pays-de-la-Loire Pays-de-la-Loire
Picardy Picardie
Poitou-Charentes Poitou-Charentes
Provence-Alpes-Azur Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur
Rhone-Alps Rhône-Alpes
Upper-Normandy Haute-Normandie